Skip To Main Content

2021 Board Reorganization

2021 Board Reorganization

RIFLE, CO – On November 30, 2021, Garfield Re-2 School Board met for a special session to reorganize after the November 2, 2021 election.

Board members Britton Fletchall, Jason Shoup, and Tony May were sworn into their positions. Both May and Fletchall are new to the board. May defeated Caitlin Carey in a contested race in Director District E. He takes the seat of long-time school board member and outgoing president Anne Guettler who was term-limited.

Fletchall, Director District A (West Rifle), ran unopposed as candidate Jessica Paugh officially withdrew from the race after ballots were mailed. He takes the seat of Tom Slappey who has served over three-years on the school board and did not run for re-election.

Jason Shoup retained his seat in the November election for Director District B and also ran unopposed. Shoup was appointed to fill the seat left vacant when Kirk Wilson resigned in August 2020. 

As part of the School Board reorganization process, Meriya Stickler was elected as school board President. Stickler represents Director District D and was elected to the board in 2019. She most recently served as secretary. Elected as Vice President was Tony May. Elected as the Board Secretary was Britton Fletchall and Christina Maness was elected as Treasurer. Maness represents District C and was appointed in November following the resignation of Katie Mackley.

The next regularly scheduled Garfield Re-2 school board meeting will be Wednesday, December 8 at 6:30 p.m. at the District Office.

photo of the garfield Re-2 School Board
The 2021 Garfield Re-2 School Board - Christina Maness, Britton Fletchall, Meriya Stickler, Jason Shoup and Tony May.