Skip To Main Content

Re-2 Welcomes Three New School Board members

Re-2 Welcomes Three New School Board members
School Board Members November 2023

RIFLE, CO – On November 29, 2023, the Garfield Re-2 School Board met for a special session to reorganize after the November 7, 2023 election.
Board members Cassie Haskell, Chance W. Jenkins and Fathom Jensen were sworn into their positions. All three are new to the board. Haskell defeated Kaylin Harju in a contested race in Director District B (east Rifle to Silt). She takes the seat of Jason Shoup, who leaves the board after over nearly four-years of service.

Jensen, Director District C (South Rifle), ran unopposed and assumed the seat of Christina Maness who served two-years after being appointed in 2021.  Jenkins takes over in Director District D (West Silt to New Castle) in the seat that was vacated in September when then member Dawn Evridge resigned in September. He defeated Daniel Adams and Nicholas R. Cocina in a contested race.

As part of the School Board reorganization process, Tony May was re-elected as school board President. May represents Director District E (New Castle) and was elected to the board in 2021. Elected as Vice President was Britton Fletchall, representing Director District A (west Rifle). Elected as the Board Secretary was Cassie Haskell and Chance Jenkins was elected as Treasurer. 
The next regularly scheduled Garfield Re-2 school board meeting will be Wednesday, December 13 at 5:30 p.m. at the Wamsley Elementary.