New School Board Members

This is the image for the news article titled new school board members

The Garfield Re-2 School District would like to welcome our new school board members.

At the November 1, 2021, Garfield Re-2 Special School Board meeting, the board appointed Christina Maness to the Director District C school board seat.

Maness was one of three community members who submitted letters of interest following the resignation of Katie Mackley at the Oct 13, 2021 school board meeting. Fathom Jensen and Holly Miller also submitted letters of interest. On November 1, all three candidates were interviewed by the board with Maness selected to fill the vacancy. Maness must be sworn in within 10-days of her appointment. This will occur on Tuesday, November 9th.

Maness will join two new faces to the school board - Britton Fletchall and Tony May. Britton will represent District A and replace outgoing school board member Tom Slappey who chose not to run. Britton ran against Jessica Paugh who withdrew from the race after ballots were mailed due to a change in employment.

Tony will represent District E and replace outgoing school board member Anne Guettler who is term-limited and could not run. Tony defeated Caitlyn Carey in a contested race.

Jason Shoup ran unopposed in Director District B to retain the seat that he was appointed to in September 2020 after Kirk Wilson stepped down.

Garfield County officials will certify the election results in the coming weeks. Per state statute, board members will be sworn into office following certification. The certification of the Garfield Re-2 elected school board members will occur on November 17, 2021 at a special school board meeting. The time is still to be determined. A reorganization of the board will occur at that time to include an election of new school board officers.

Thank you to all of the citizens who put their names forward to be considered for a seat on the school board. It is not an easy thing to do - to put yourself “out there” and be vulnerable in service to your community.

Finally, it is with deep gratitude that we celebrate our soon-to-be outgoing school board members Anne Guettler, Katie Mackley, and Tom Slappey. They have dedicated hundreds of hours to the children, families and staff of Garfield Re-2 and we are sincerely grateful for their service.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.